May 17


How To Verify Safe Agile Certifications?

By Agile Exam Academy

May 17, 2022

SAFe® is a registered trademark of Scaled Agile, Inc. That being said, there are many companies and individuals who claim to be certified in SAFe®, but how can you be sure? In this blog post, we’ll provide some tips on how to verify SAFe® certifications. Keep in mind that not all certifications are created equal – so be sure to do your research before choosing a provider. Thanks for reading!

What Are SAFe® And What Are Its Benefits?

How To Verify Safe Agile Certifications?
How To Verify Safe Agile Certifications?

SAFe® is the world’s leading framework for scaled agility. It provides a simple yet powerful set of guidelines that help organizations achieve line-of-sight and flow from strategy to delivery at scale. However, SAFe® has proven in the field by some of the world’s largest enterprises, and forward-thinking organizations around the globe are rapidly adopting it.

The ART (Agile Release Train) is the foundation of SAFe, which is a durable, self-organizing team of agile teams that plans, commits, and provides value in a rhythm of synchronized iterations. The ART is supported by several other key components, including:

  • Lean Portfolio Management: Enables decision-making at the strategic level to align and fund ARTs with Value Streams. 
  • Program Increment (PI): A timeboxed planning event where the ART develops a shared launch plan for the upcoming increment. 
  • System Teams: cross-functional teams that provide architecture, integration, performance, testing, and other services to the ART. 

What Are The Different SAFe® Certification Levels Available, And What Do They Signify?

How To Verify Safe Agile Certifications?
How To Verify Safe Agile Certifications?

There are three different SAFe® certifications available:

  • Agilist SAFe® 
  • SAFe® Product Owner/Product Manager
  • SAFe® Scrum Master

Each signifies a different level of mastery in the SAFe framework and how it can be applied to real-world scenarios. 

1. SAFe® Agilist

SAFe® Agilist is the entry-level certification, and it signifies an understanding of how to implement the SAFe framework to achieve successful business outcomes. Individuals who are certified at this level have a strong understanding of the principles of agile software development. However, individuals who are certified at this level have a strong understanding of the principles of agile software development and how to apply them Within the context of a SAFe enterprise.

2. SAFe® Product Owner/Product Manager

SAFe® Product Owner/Product Manager is the next level up, and it signifies an in-depth understanding of how to manage agile product development effectively. But those who are certified at this level have a deep understanding of Scrum practices, product road mapping, and how to prioritize features to maximize value delivery. 

3. SAFe® Scrum Master

SAFe® Scrum Master is the highest level of certification, and it signifies an expert-level understanding of how to lead scrum teams effectively. However. those who are certified at this level have a deep understanding of team dynamics and servant leadership

How Can You Verify That A Particular Individual Has The Relevant SAFe® Certification(s)?

SAFe® Central is the official website for SAFe certifications, and it includes a public database of all certified individuals. However, to verify an individual’s certification status, enter their name or certification number into the search bar on the website. The results will include the individual’s name, certification level, and expiration date. Scaled Agile, Inc. assigns certification numbers that are unique to each individual.

If an individual does not appear in the database, they are not currently certified. It is important to note that certification is only valid for a set period, after which recertification is mandatory. Therefore, it is also possible to check the expiration date to verify that an individual’s certification is still current.

How Much Does It Cost To Become Certified In SAFe®, And Where Can You Find Training Courses?

To become a SAFe® Agilist, you first need to attend a course called “SAFe for Teams.” This 4-day course costs $2,950, and it is the prerequisite for all other SAFe certifications. After taking this course, you can take the exam to become a SAFe® Agilist.

The exam costs $495, and it is valid for two years. If you need to renew your certification, you can retake the exam or attend a course called “SAFe for Programmers.” This 2-day course costs $1,995. There are also other courses available that cover different aspects of SAFe®, such as “SAFe® Product Owner/Product Manager,” “SAFE® DevOps,” and “SAFE® Release Train Engineer.” These courses range in price from $995 to $2,195. You can find training courses offered by different providers on the SAFe website.

Are There Any Other Requirements (Such As Experience) For Becoming Certified In SAFe®?

SAFe® is a registered trademark of Scaled Agile, Inc. and is used with permission. KnowledgeHut is an authorized training provider for SAFe®.To become a certified SAFe® Practitioner, there are no other prerequisites apart from attending the two-day course and passing the exam. However, for the SAFe® Agilist certification, candidates must have experience working in a Lean-Agile environment. The SAFe® for Architects certification has additional prerequisites of Lean and Kanban experience and experience in applying SAFe® to an enterprise solution. However, for more information on verifying someone’s SAFe® certification, visit the Scaled Agile website.

How Reliable Are SAFe® Certifications, And How Often Do They Need To Be Renewed/Updated?

There’s no doubt that SAFe® has become one of the most popular frameworks for implementing agile methodology at scale. 

The short answer is that SAFe® certifications are reliable, and they only need to be renewed every three years. However, there are a few things to keep in mind regarding verification.

First of all, it’s essential to ensure that the certification you’re looking at is from an accredited provider. The Scaled Agile Framework is open source, so anyone can technically create a SAFe® certification course. However, the Scaled Agile Alliance recognizes only courses from accredited providers.

Secondly, while the Scaled Agile Alliance keeps a list of certified practitioners on its website, it’s always good to verify with the provider that the certification is still active. A provider will have some verification process in place in most cases, such as a unique ID number or expiration date.

Ultimately, while SAFe® certifications are pretty reliable. But it’s always a good idea to take a few extra steps to verify that the


How To Verify Safe Agile Certifications?

Agile certifications can be valuable for project managers, but verifying their validity is essential. The SAFe® certification is one of the most popular and reliable agile certifications available. However, it’s essential to ensure that the individual you’re working with has the relevant certification level(s) before entrusting them with your project. Moreover, verifying an individual’s SAFe® certification is relatively straightforward, just follow the steps outlined in this blog post.

Agile Exam Academy

About the author

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Download your FREE PMI-ACP® practice exam